103 Degrees

I woke up to a thunderstorm. Six am with lightning and thunder shaking my apartment. I made sure to grab an umbrella on my way out, and ran to my bus.

What a great way to start a Monday.

Then, for fun, it stopped raining and then the temperature rose up to 103. ONE HUNDRED AND THREE. I smelled so bad. It’s good we have the internet between us.

Anyway

It is my second week of teaching, hence my being a little MIA. My life has turn into a whirlwind of buses, lesson planning, teaching, and clapping. Clapping because it is the only way that I have found to get my students to be quite.

I start my mornings off at a middle school teaching 7th and 8th grade English and Pronunciation. We play games, and I act a fool, and in general have a good time. Four lessons and then lunch. I catch a bus home relax for exactly fifty minutes before I head off to the Primary School of Doom. We’ll call it PSD.

I teach two classes there everyday at PSD, forty minutes each. Those have been the longest forty minutes of my life. First up is the six and seven year olds. Do they know English? No, Do they care that I know English? No. Do they listen? No.

You get it.

I am slowly learning (very slowly) how to deal with thirty-five tiny children.

I am now relaxing in the air conditioning with my roommates. I nice calm evening before, you guessed it, more lesson planning.

Have a good one, all

Schmaud

5 thoughts on “103 Degrees

  1. Remember it’s only 40 minutes a day and at least you have the excuse of language barrier. It will get better. Just concentrate on the joy of your other classes. 🙂

  2. The only Spanish I know is what an elderly Hispanic lady who wore velvet sweatsuits taught me when I was 6. In other words, you need a velvet sweatsuit.

Leave a Reply

