KTV

I have weekends off. This is a beautiful and enjoyable reality that I love to waste away in my pajamas, eating chocolate, and venturing out only for cheap Korean food.  This is not, however, how Chinese like to spend their weekends. Case in point: KTV.

Oh KTV. Where do I begin? I was told it would be some karaoke. But no, my friend, it was that and so much more. KTV is a full sensory overload with loud pop music, flashing lights, low-quality microphones all stuffed in a small room that fits fifteen of your closest friends. That’s right, its like your own private karaoke par-tay. Get a group of your friends together, rent a karaoke ready room, and sing till you lose your voice.

At least that is what we did.

There were about five of us teachers along with about ten of our Chinese friends. The evening began at 7:30 and did not end until 11:30. Four hours spent passing around the microphones, messing up the words to random Rhianna songs, cheering when someone hits that high note, and laughing when they can’t keep up with the words. Everyone picked at least one song, belting it out with more confidence than Gaga herself. I found this particularly hilarious because Chinese are generally shy, but you give them a mic and a Keisha (sorry Kei$ha) song and they go to town. Its a thrilling thing to watch. Though the headache that followed was a little overwhelming.

The evening ended with us saying goodbye with our scratchy voices and exhausted selves. We then crammed into a few cabs and went home and crashed.

It was a fun evening, but I can promise that tonight will be spent with chocolate and pjs. You know so that I can rest up for next week.

Best wishes, Schmaud.

3 thoughts on “KTV

  1. That sounds like a good time to me. But I am wondering what song you picked to entertain your friends? Wish I could have been there for that. Thanks I am enjoying the blog and the chance to live vicariously through your ever inquisitive eyes.

  2. Audrey,
    I wish you had written this last week! We stayed in K-town in NYC this past week. 32nd street is filled with karaoke and Korean BBQ. I kept seeing signs about private ready rooms but had no idea what they were, nor why there were hundreds of Asian kids lined up to rent them on Friday and Saturday night. If I had known what a private ready room actually was, perhaps I wouldn’t have been so judgmental in my heart and maybe even joined them in the fun and mayhem.

    Keep blogging. You’re funny.

Leave a Reply

