MERRY CHRISTMAS

From China.

1.Like most things that I have encountered in this hemisphere, Christmas here is weird in a delightfully kooky kind of way in which Christmas trees show up in the lobbies of apartment buildings covered in Halloween spiderwebs and burnt out lights.

2.I work on Christmas. I don’t want to talk about it.

3.There has, however, been no shortage of season’s greetings this time of year, and my students regularly great me with a “Merry Christmas”.

4. Jingle Bells is favorite here, and despite the fact that most Americans I know don’t even really know what a one horse open sleigh is, the kids are great at singing it.

5. At the Primary School of Doom, there is a huge Christmas display with a small cottage, some fluffy fake snow, and not one but two jazzy-saxaphone-playing Santas. And their hips sway as they play. Ahhh, Christmas in China.

I miss you all dearly, and can’t wait to exchange presents in August.

Have a happy Christmas,

Schmaud

2 thoughts on “MERRY CHRISTMAS

  1. Merry Christmas! I hope you find even more funny China things to lighten your heart today! I know a certain Shepherd who is enjoying taking good care of you while you are away. Blessings my dear!

  2. Merry Christmas, Audrey! Just remember there’s a package on its way full of yummy treats. Although it has been unusualy, this is a Christmas you will never forget and will laugh every time you think about it. Looking forward to your return, but enjoy your experiences to the fullest. Love you!

Leave a comment